gail schimmel

The blog of writer Gail Schimmel: A bit of writing, a bit of parenting, a bit of thinking and some book reviews

Ms Conception

Leave a comment

So I took a break from my Man Booker reading list, and picked up a book a friend lent me. Ms Conception by Pamela Power. It is a South African book, and according to the author’s Twitter bio, available at Love Books in Johannesburg, and on Amazon.

Now I have read a bit in this genre – which is Mommy-Chic-Lit but funny and real. I have also read a bit of South African chic-lit – although I confess not everything. But I have to say that this is one of the funniest, easiest, most enjoyable reads that I have had in this genre; and is also one of the most competently written light South African reads I have ever read.

This book is for mothers, and anybody who ever intends to be a mother. It is a hilarious but absolutely true look at the challenges of early motherhood. It is well paced and has a great arc (by this I mean that it starts and finishes in a related place, with a completely unpredictable and hilarious outcome.) The characters are likable; there is just enough sex and romance to keep the plot flowing and the writing is world class.

It is (sadly) seldom that I am so impressed by a local book – and would have been impressed wherever this book had sprung from – and I urge you all to read it. As for me, I am going to go back to my Man Booker reading project, but I am probably going to start stalking Pamela Power as an extra hobby.

Leave a Reply

