gail schimmel

The blog of writer Gail Schimmel: A bit of writing, a bit of parenting, a bit of thinking and some book reviews

Scarred by Joanne Macgregor

Leave a comment

A funny side effect of being a writer is making friends with other writers. It’s funny because now you have to read their work – and when you have become friends with them BEFORE you read their work, this can be nerve wracking. What if you HATE the writing of a beloved writer-friend?

So it was with some trepidation that I started reading Joanne Macgregor’s Young Adult novel, Scarred. Not only am I friends with Joanne, but I am also not a big fan of YA. This may be because my reading experience of the genre is narrow, and I have had some unlucky bad reads that put me off. So I started reading with some level of nervousness.

But Scarred gripped me from the word go. I basically read it overnight.

It is the story of Sloane Munster, a 17 year old girl who was badly scarred in a car accident. Sloane starts at a new school – only to discover that a boy she knew from “before” is at the school, and seems to be repulsed and angered by her scarred face.

Joanne is a psychologist, and this book is about people in challenging psychological states. As we unwrap the mystery of what happened to Sloane and the parallel mystery of why Luke hates her, we unravel the psychology of loss and blame. And there is nothing childish about the language or the story – the emotions and the plot are equally gripping for teens and adults.

I recommend this book to anyone wanting a quick, gripping read. But mostly. I recommend it to people with teens who are a bit reluctant to read. . . this book will catch them and hold them and they will be asking for more.

And I am asking for more too, please, Joanne.

Leave a Reply

